Proposal - Charity Vault/Program

Summary
Creation of charity vault/farm that fills a pool which is then distributed to charitable causes as voted on by the community.

Abstract
Create variable deposit charity pools (1% - 100%) whereby liquidity providers can donate a portion or all of their yield to a charity pool. The pool will then be used to donate to various organizations across the globe. Grants can be randomly selected, applied for, or submitted by community for consideration in a potential sub governance section…?

Motivation
It’s a good look for defi, it promotes crypto adoption, it helps out your fellow human, and is probably tax deductible in most places. plus, wouldn’t it be fun to just randomly blast good causes with funds?

Specification
• I’m not technically adept enough to fill out this part, but perhaps minds could come together and help flesh out the details. One thing to note is that perhaps there could be a separate governance token? It would be nice for it to include those not holding YFI to be able to vote on grants/donation recipients - maybe just create a faucet and give a pile to anyone that wants them? lots to be considered here.

For
• Build the thing

Against
• don’t build the thing

7 Likes

this is obviously a very broad idea and there is more to cover/consider here than i could think of, much less fit in a proposal, but i figured this was the best place to start, so yeah - if i’m doing it wrong, please let me know.

2 Likes

Without sounding cheap or ungrateful for all that has been created in crypto – I think we should focus on Yield-bearing defi products. We have just passed compensation proposals, BABY, and now is the time to build Yearn.