Proposal: NFT design contest in collaboration with RARI, SuperRare etc

Summary:

Launch a contest, a call for artists to design the most beautiful yInsure.finance insurance covers as NFT on Rarible/SuperRare etc… Let’s make insurance sexy!

(if you don’t know what are NFT, here’s a long guide. Lazy? Here’s a Twitter thread about NFTs)

Abstract & motivation:

2020 is a dark year for art, major festivals were canceled, museums and galleries struggle to make ends meet, residencies are killed by travel restrictions and so on… Ask any artist out there, this year is cursed (as an artist I can confirm this as well). Thankfully digital collectibles and artworks minted as NFT (non fungible tokens) are all the rage, virtual art is booming.

Platforms like Rarible, SuperRare, Known Origin, Async art and OpenSea are leading the way for the future of digital art and physical art on the blockchain.

Yearn with yInsure (underwritten by Nexus Mutual) is leading the way in Crypto insurance, and now people are opening covers on yInsure and packaging them into NFTs that can be sold to anyone. This is huge and innovative!

Problem is, insurance was never sexy, so let’s merge best of both world and create the most beautiful NFT-packed-insurances in Crypto.

Specification:

Partner with Rarible (hey Alex :wave:t2: @rarible) and other platforms such as SuperRare to launch a contest. Form a jury and vote on the best NFTs, create some great prizes for the winners (maybe some super scarce YFI tokens? YFI merch? Invitation to the Tokyo party?). This would be mutually beneficial to Yearn, to artists and to those platforms (win-win-win).

Artists could play with a lot of concepts, a few ideas:

• Sci-fi, insurance = protective shield, think energy shields like in Star Trek
  • Fantasy+Medieval, insurance = protective spells, citadels, castles, armors
  • Abstract, insurance = peace of mind, tranquility, calm, confidence, zen